All Editions AFC Asian Cup Winners & Runners-Up List: 1956-2019

By | December 7, 2018

Do you know? AFC Asian Cup is being organized since 1956 till now. This 2019 AFC Asian Cup is the 17th edition of this grand football tournament of the Asian continent.

If you haven’t know much about this football event. Then don’t worry we have provided the complete list of the host nation, winner team, runners-up team and final score by them all at one place.

This event has a lot of and calling because in this tournament top football playing countries are going to participate to lift the trophy.

According to the history of this championship, the inaugural edition of Asian football cup was first conducted in 1956 at the host nation Hong Kong in which South Korea lifted the trophy.

And from then till now, a total of 16 editions of this Asian Cup have been organized. In the 17th edition of AFC Asian Cup that starts from 5th of January 2019, all the best nations were picked up by conducting a draw in which were selected based on their performance in the qualifying matches.

However, the grouping of the teams in the group stage matches was done solely on the basis of the draw.

Just have a look at the table and we will discuss the rest of the info letter in the post.

1956 Hong Kong South Korea Israel Winner decided in round robin
1960 South Korea South Korea Israel Winner decided in round robin
1964 Israel Israel India Winner decided in round robin
1968 Iran Iran Burma Winner decided in round robin
1972 Thailand Iran South Korea 2-1
1976 Iran Iran Kuwait 1-0
1980 Kuwait Kuwait South Korea 3-0
1984 Singapore Saudi Arabia China PR 2-0
1988 Qatar Saudi Arabia South Korea 0-0 [4-3 in Penalties]
1992 Japan Japan Saudi Arabia 1-0
1996 UAE Saudi Arabia UAE 0-0 [4-2 in Penalties]
2000 Lebanon Japan Saudi Arabia 1-0
2004 China Japan China PR 3-1
2007 Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Vietnam Iraq Saudi Arabia 1-0
2011 Qatar Japan Australia 1-0
2015 Australia Australia South Korea 2-1

I hope you had a glimpse of this complete table where we have provided all the info as they promised a bit earlier.

Now if you look closely at the table, you may find that in the history of the football tournament of Asian Football Confederation, Japan is perhaps the only team that had been most successful with four titles followed by Saudi Arabia and Iran that won three times each.

So let’s see, how in this edition who is going to perform the best and win the championship. This time the winners will be awarded a huge prize sum of money along with other bonuses.

So don’t forget to book the tickets for this extraordinary football tournament. If you haven’t got your ticket yet, no issues you can watch the matches live for free on your tv or on the internet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *